And of course I am afraid, because the transformation of silence into language and action is an act of self revelation, and that always seems fraught with danger. –Audre Lorde

I think Audre Lorde summed up the problem with writing for me. I feel like I’m exposing my insides, my very soul, to scrutiny and criticism. And the fear comes from the fear of being rejected – not the information on the page, but my insides. Writing is just so personal. It also doesn’t help that I read other academic books and become intimidated by their fancy sentences and their extensive citations. But I have been writing. I wrote about a page yesterday. I sat down to do some writing today and of course my dad called just as I was putting pen to paper. We talked for 21 minutes. Then I decided to update this blog and now I’m getting back into the zone.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

