Yay for (kind of) new beginnings!

So I gave this post the title of (kind of) new beginnings because it’s the first of the month. And like the first of the year or the beginning of the week I feel this sense of renewal. I feel like I can slough off the indiscretions of the past and decide from here on out that I will do right. If course like all beginnings things promised will fall by the wayside. But I will persist in this practice and hope for the best.

I am teaching a class this semester. This is my first time teaching my own class. It is both exciting and terrifying at the same time. I am so worried about them and about me. I worry about whether they’re understanding, about whether I am presenting myself with enough authority, about whether I have enough material for class or too little, sigh. And today, I had the minnie crisis of my articles not being copied properly. So I uploaded incomplete copies of the readings. So I had to run around and recopy the articles and reupload them. But to make the situation more difficult, my office is a disaster so I could not find the articles to recopy. I was mad at myself for allowing my office to become such a mess!

So today, I have a to-do list and I’m sticking to it. I’m cleaning my office, getting my class organized, beginning to grade my papers, and prepping for class.

Today is also bad because I have a cold and I woke up at 4am coughing and couldn’t get back to sleep for about an hour. So today I feel tired because my sleep was interrupted. But I will move forward.

While I’m on this productivity streak, I will post how many words I write everyday on my dissertation. The month of march needs to be a busy one!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

