Waiting is the hardest part indeed…

About two months ago I submitted a grant application to an outside funding source. I worked very hard on the application and I think it is one of the best grant applications I’ve written. I emailed to grant administrator to ask him to notify of the decision through email since I am not in the location of the address in my application materials. He returned the email saying that the committee should be making their decision soon and they were requesting to see the articles that I listed as forthcoming on my CV. What in the world does that mean? They liked my application, but were unsure due to not having seen anything in press? There are myriad ways I am interpreting this. One of the thoughts that crossed my mind was that I did not cite someone important (read: someone on the committee) and they wanted to see if I cited them in other pubs. So now the decision should come any day now and I am on pins and needles. 

It doesn’t help that one of the articles I thought was good (and that others told me was great) couldn’t even go out for a review. Sigh. I was riding high from my triumph of graduating only to be thrown into uncertainty once again.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

