Missing Conferences

Or more specifically, never hearing about them in the first place. Three conferences have occurred that, had I heard about them, I would have submitted an abstract to them. What adds insult to injury is that people I know, and would call my friends, attended and presented at these conferences. I don’t want to complain about them not passing along an email notifying me about a conferences that I might be interested in. But I need to find a better way to stay abreast of the conferences that I would like to attend. There were not conferences for large disciplinary associations in the US. In fact, all of them were for conferences outside of the US (which I would like to attend more of). I have some friends who are constantly asked to attend conferences and participate in panels. One of my friends told me that’s how he chooses to attend the bulk of the conferences on his CV. Rarely am I asked to be on a panel out of the blue, even by people I know. I’m still in the process of trying to decide on what conferences to attend regularly. This whole becoming an academic professional is hard to do.

PS This grant foundation is having its way with me. I have not heard yet!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

