The Most Wonderful Time of the Year…

It’s the beginning of “conference season” for me. Tomorrow I set off for my first conference of the academic year. The topic is exciting to me, the papers look interesting, the location is in a cool city in the South – I am looking forward to this. One of the things I like about this particular conference is how organized it appears to be. There is a conference website with the schedule and everyone can upload their paper to the website for public access. The organizers have sent emails with logistics and suggestions for some great restaurants. It looks like it will be so wonderful and productive. The operative word here is LOOKS, because I have been to plenty of conferences in the past that looked just as promising and ended up disappointing me or not really hitting the mark. But right now I’m cautiously optimistic – which seems to be what living academically is all about.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

