Word Count

I’m trying to document my word count to chart my progress on this article. I am part of a writing group over at Dame Eleanor Hull’s place and I really appreciate the accountability with having to check in every week. I’ve been looking for such a community in real life, but while writing my diss and now, I have been unsuccessful in establishing one. After hearing tales of an amazing writing group from a past colleague I tried to get other graduate students to form one. I think everyone was very reticent to share their work. Even after grad school, reluctance to share seems to continue to be the case for many people. I got the urge to pass around my work around the time I decided that I wanted to be a prolific academic writer. One of my mentors told me to write unselfconsciously. This seems like simple advice and even like it’s easier said than done. However, for me, this direction changed how I think about writing. I now try to remind myself that it is a process and really never a final product. And to that end, as part of my process today, I achieved 599 words.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

