My Academic Life

I share an office with a faculty member who is currently on leave. Two days ago I was sitting in the office and s/he came in and said “It’s so nice to meet you,” s/he said. “How is everything going here for you?” S/he just came in for a minute and started to ruffle through some papers and books on the shelf.

I said everything’s fine and I liked it there so far. Then s/he said, “Well the library alone makes is worth it to be here. It has so many resources.” I said, “I know, the library has everything.”

Then, s/he paused, turned to me and said, “well not everything. But I’m sure if they don’t have it they can get it for you.”

Academic lesson #5341 I learned: Never be too enthusiastic or offer too much praise about anything. Always be critical, even in small talk.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

