When 500 words a day is not enough…

I’ve reached a point in the writing of an article when all the words are basically on the page thanks to writing more or less 500 words a day. Now I have to re-arrange paragraphs, work on sentences, fret over whether this quote works, and whether I have explained enough. It’s a good place to be in, but my new problem becomes how to benchmark progress when all the words are on the page. I keep returning to the same paragraphs and re-reading the same sentences. I think I’m going to try amstr’s method that she posted here. Go read it for yourself, but Amstr suggests reading through the paper and writing on the back of the pages what needs done. Then that makes it easier to cross off tasks in moving towards the final draft. That should satisfy my need to document progress and cross tasks out on a to-do list. This is why I love talking to other academics about writing, either virtually or in person, because someone always has a method that just might work.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

