Finally, it has happened to me…

I just got a message from a colleague, someone who I presented on a panel with YEARS ago. S/he told me s/he was organizing a panel for Big Area Studies Conference next year and s/he wanted to know if I could participate. I just got an email from Area Studies Association about renewing my membership in anticipation for the big conference. While looking at the email, I thought, sigh! another conference where I’m going to have to beg, borrow, and steal to find a panel that fits. But finally, someone has had the idea to organize a panel, someone I know. And that someone, has thought to reach out to me and include me in the panel. I know that seems so small, even microscopic. But people so rarely think of me when organizing things. And I have been trying to change that by networking like crazy and organizing my fair share of panels. Perhaps if I had a larger ego I might think I am becoming known (even by a few), but really I think my networking has been paying off and the seeds I have planted are finally beginning to bear fruit.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

