Dreaming Academically

I had a horrible academic nightmare last night. I dreamed that it was the first day of class and I did not have a syllabus. Basically I frittered the first day away with introductions and an activity and told students I would email the syllabus to them. One of my students announced that, “Oh this is a way for the professor to not be ready on the first day and hide it with other stuff.”

I attended a workshop the other day about preparing presentations. One of the presenters suggested that we “go meta” meaning make explicit that we know this is a job talk or teaching demo and refer to the tactics and strategies we use in research and teaching during the presentation. Maybe I internalized this advice a little too much so that a “meta commentary” also shows up in my dreams. Go meta indeed!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

